Contact us: Independence House Plot 11/13 Olya Rd Gulu City, 0711 111 666, Email Us

Seven Nominated for Dokolo Parliamentary By- Election

The late Cecilia Atim Ogwal was 77 years old.

The Electoral Commission (EC) has nominated seven candidates for the Dokolo Parliamentary by-election.

The two- days nomination exercise presided over by Erikwaine Ngobi, the Dokolo District Returning officer took place at the offices of the EC in Dokolo town.

The candidates are Rosemary Austin Alwoc Ogwal from the opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC), Janet Rose Adongo Elau from the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM), Sarah Aguti from Uganda People’s Congress (UPC), and Harriet from the National Unity Platform (NUP).

The others are Esther Akullo Obot, Anna Grace Lalam, and Rebecca Arao all are independent candidates. On Tuesday, Ngobi closed the nomination at exactly one minute past 5pm as required by the law, saying all nominated candidates met the requirement for nomination.

According to the EC’s roadmap, the nominated candidates for Parliamentary By-Election will engage in a 7- day campaign period from Thursday March 14th to Wednesday, March 20th 2024.

The polling and tallying of results for the parliamentary, directly elected councilor, and woman councilor in one of the local governments will take place on Thursday, March 21.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top